Items: 0
Total: £0.00
View Basket
About Us
Primary Maths
11 Plus & SATs
Online Tests
Contact Us
Members Login

Email sign up
Enter your email address for our latest news and updates
Sign Up
View newsletter
Read our blog
Follow Us

Key Stage 2 National Curriculum Tests

SATs is the acronym for Statutory Assessment Tests. In Key Stage 2, these tests are taken in the May of Year 6. Optional tests used to be available for other year groups in Key Stage 2, but have been discontinued due to the curriculum changes.

Why are the SATs important?
The Year 6 SATs are mainly used by the school to check on progress. However, they are also used to assess the child's attainment before attending secondary school and are sometimes used by the secondary school to determine which sets they will enter in year 7. So, not something to take lightly!

What do the SATs involve?
Recently we have seen several changes to the SATs. The Year 6 SATs will now consist of the following tests:
English:- 1 Reading (comprehension) paper and 1 Grammar, Punctuation and Spelling paper.
Mathematics:- two 45-minute papers (both non calculator) and a mental arithmetic task.

For more information about the year 6 SATs, try the following site:

Department For Education

Some high-achieving students may also be entered for the Level 6 SATs in either maths or English or both. Visit our Level 6 SATs page for more information.

In the run up to the 2015 SATs, we'll be uploading a new explanation video each day. Take a look!
Progress And Advance In Maths Revision & Practice for Ages 11 too 13

Online SATs Test

11 Plus Revision Pack
Perfect for 11 Plus & SATs Revision

Maths Star - The Home Of Maths © 2010 - 2015