Items: 0
Total: £0.00
View Basket

Email sign up
Enter your email address for our latest news and updates
Sign Up
View newsletter
Read our blog


Key Stage 2 National Curriculum Tests

SATs is the acronym for Statutory Assessment Tests. In Key Stage 2, these tests are taken in the May of Year 6, although optional tests can be given at all year groups.

Why are the SATs important?
The Year 6 SATs are mainly used by the school to check on progress. However, they are also used to assess the child's attainment before attending secondary school and are sometimes used by the secondary school to determine which sets they will enter in year 7. So, not something to take lightly!

What do the SATs involve?
2013 will see some changes to the SATs. The Year 6 SATs will now consist of the following tests:
English:- 1 Reading (comprehension) paper and 1 Grammar, Punctuation and Spelling paper.
Mathematics:- two 45-minute papers (one calculator and one non calculator) and a mental arithmetic task.

For more information about the year 6 SATs, try the following sites:

Watcombe Primary SATs page
Department For Education

11 Plus Revision Pack
Maths Star - The Home Of Maths © 2010 - 2014